Race Recap: 2016 Freedomthon 5K

All smiles before the race!

All smiles before the race!

After temperatures reached into the 100s last Fourth of July, Jason and I were quite happy to wake up Monday morning to cool temperatures and overcast skies.

We decided to return to the Freedomthon 5K, a fast, local run where I got my 5K PR in 2014.

To make it even more fun, we rode our tandem to the start line at the city library.

As soon as I jogged over to a water fountain pre-race, I knew I wasn’t going to get a PR again– my shins were acting up and I was feeling sluggish.

But that wouldn’t cut into my fun! I revised my goal, hoping now to just be faster than my time last week at the Twilight Run.

The course is a pancake flat out-and-back course. Because it’s a holiday, everyone was festive and there seemed to be more people cheering than at other small 5Ks.

The atmosphere was really fun, even if I wasn’t having a great running day.

Dressed in a patriotic outfit, I got a lot of smiles from people as I ran by.

Because of the out-and-back, I got to cheer on the faster runners, including Jason, and see all of the fun outfits people were wearing.

I was having more fun than it looks like, sprinting the last bit with a flag.

I was having more fun than it looks like, sprinting the last bit with a flag.

The last couple of meters, they hand you an American flag to cross the finish line with. It’s a unique part of the Freedomthon and it really does provide a running boost.

After finishing the pancake flat course, we were rewarded with… pancakes!

Despite my shins and hip pain that flared up in the last mile, I did reach my goal. Jason ran a sub-20 5K and got 2nd place in his age group.

We had fun riding our tandem back home, medals clanking and all!

A great start to celebrating the Fourth of July!

A great start to celebrating the Fourth of July!

Time: 35:20
Ran With: Ran alone
Costume that made me smile the most: A lady about my speed was wearing a headband with two mini pinwheels that were spinning as she ran.

Leave a Reply

