A Different Day, A Different Kind of Training Run

The difference a week makes can be incredible!

On May 29, Katie, Taylor and I went on a run that took us from his house, across the Columbia River, to a McMenamins for lunch. Having upped our run-walk pace from 30-30s to running 1 min/ walking 40 sec, I had to work to keep up with Katie and Taylor.

However, it was a satisfying 8-mile training run.

Thanks Katie, for snapping this picture of Taylor and I. I was only thinking about keeping up!

Thanks Katie, for snapping this picture of Taylor and I. I was only thinking about keeping up!

However, this past weekend was completely different. Temperatures skyrocketed. On Sunday, it reached 100 degrees. On top of this, we changed our scheduled easy 3 mile run to a 10 mile long run, moving the long run up to accommodate summiting Mt. St. Helens next weekend instead.

10 miles during a heat wave?

We did our best. We got up early on Sunday for a run that looped through Tryon Creek State Park, leaving us the ability to stop at the parking lot for cold gatorade, water and more. But the heat, humidity and a hilly trail run led us to shorten our run from 10 miles to 6 miles. The 6 miles took us longer to complete than expected and temperatures were rising fast. Running further was just not going to happen… we went out for iced coffees instead.

It’s supposed to drop back down into the high 60s/low 70s this next weekend, but the heat wave leaves me wondering about my performance during the Twilight Half Marathon in July. I’m hoping for cool weather, but if it’s another scorcher, I won’t be trying for a PR as planned.

Meanwhile, I’m concentrating on the epic Mt. St. Helens hike next weekend before refocusing my attention on the Twilight Half. I’m not afraid to adapt to extreme conditions. Shortening a single run from 10 miles to 6 miles isn’t going to make or break my training.

Leave a Reply

