Race Recap: 2016 Tinker Bell Half Marathon— Disneyland, CA

It was a whirlwind weekend trip and I had a blast at the 2016 Tinker Bell Half Marathon on May 8!

Taylor and I sport our short sleeve Tinker Bell shorts at the expo

Taylor and I sport our short sleeve Tinker Bell shorts at the expo

It was a three day trip for me— the four of us (two runners and two spectators) arrived in Anaheim on Thursday evening. We elected to skip the expo Friday so we could spend the whole day at the parks.

Going to Disneyland before the race is awesome. However, it does wear on the legs and so on Saturday we vowed to take it easy.

We went to the expo on Saturday and had a blast. Although the official merchandise tent had sold out of some items, there was still a lot to look at. Taylor picked up a limited edition print, a nice memento from his very first half marathon. I finally picked up a running hat, which will be necessary as I train for the Portland Marathon this summer.

This may be my favorite picture from the weekend and it's not even from the race! it's cool that tehy had a Tinker Bell Half Marathon autopia car out. We even got commemorative licenses.

This may be my favorite picture from the weekend and it’s not even from the race! It’s cool that they had a Tinker Bell Half Marathon Autopia car out. We even got commemorative licenses.

We also picked up packets and numbers. I was very excited about the race shirt— my first short-sleeved runDisney race shirt and green is my favorite color!

After a home cooked meal of pineapple teriyaki chicken and rice, we got to bed super early. Even though all of our race things were laid out, our alarms were still going off at 3am.

At that early in the morning, it was still dark when we got to the race start, but the sky was getting lighter and lighter. We went through the super smooth bag check process, said goodbye to our cheer section, Kelly and Jason, and then walked to our corral.

In the Corrals for the 2016 Tinker Bell Half Marathon!

In the Corrals for the 2016 Tinker Bell Half Marathon!

Every other runDisney race I’ve done has been in January, and it’s dark for the first half of the race. Here, it was practically light by the time our corral, Corral D, took off and by the time we entered Disneyland, it was a gorgeous morning.

Our costumes were awesome, great to run in and we got lots of call outs from people who loved seeing them. We rocked this race as Judy and Nick!

We had such a blast running our costumes. Judy Hopps and Nick Wilde from Zootopia are also just great running costumes for a race because they are such active characters. They were some of the most complicated running costumes I’ve ever worked on because of sheer number of pieces (not pictured is Taylor’s amazing tail).

I thought they may prove uncomfortable for such a long race, but they gave us no problems at all!  In fact, they held up really well for the entire 13 miles.

But of course, the coolest miles of the race was inside the parks where we stopped for quick photos in a number of spots.

Lost Boys found! Of course they're riding the carousel and whooping it up like any kid having fun.

Lost Boys found! Of course they’re riding the carousel and whooping it up like any kid having fun.

The route had changed from previous years, most likely due to the Star Wars Land construction and it was similar in many ways to the Star Wars route. Of course, neither of us really cared because running in Disneyland is such a great feeling. It’s the quickest way to give your feet wings.

Goofing off in front of the Rivers of America. In the background, you can bunches of runners in bright colors taking over New Orleans Square.

Goofing off in front of the Rivers of America. In the background, you can see bunches of runners in bright colors taking over New Orleans Square.

Because of the course layout, we spotted Kelly and Jason cheering for us in a bunch of different spots. They ran from location to location to cheer us on. It’s really such a boost seeing people you know turn out for your race day.

Obligatory selfie with our cheer squad. So excited to see them!

Obligatory selfie with our cheer squad. So excited to see them!

We wound in and out of the parks. Even strangely empty (except for thousands of runners), the parks seem to teem with energy.

The views of California Adventure were amazing at that time of day.

The views of California Adventure were amazing at that time of day.

By the time we left the parks we were halfway done with the race at mile 6. We got incredibly lucky with the weather for our run and it stayed cool most of the morning. In fact, temperatures were higher at home in Portland, than they were that weekend in Anaheim. Even so, by Mile 8 we could really feel it heating up, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as I had feared Southern California in the spring might be.

At some point past mile 8, dad caught us and cheered us on. It was such a great surprise seeing him at that point on the course! It was also quite sunny by then.

The Red Hat Ladies were absolutely astounding and hands down win the prize for best cheering group, spanning about four blocks around mile 8. They’d been cheering for hours and showed no signs of stopping. It was truly impressive. MiceChat was once again handing out my beloved Redvines around this spot. I found out my costume had a handy place to store them and I stashed them for somewhere down the road.

At this point in the race, you also start to see the fellow runners around you fading, especially if people are undertrained. People slow down, expressions change and heads start to hang with exhaustion. Keeping a happy attitude during the later stages of the race has become my new goal this past year and it really makes a difference in how I enjoy my races. I accept tiredness, but I refuse to let it change my attitude.

We may be feeling tired, but we're still happy to be here. At this point, we still look good and only have a 5K left in the race.

We may be feeling tired, but we’re still happy to be here. At this point, we still look good and only have a 5K left in the race.

Attitude conversations with myself go something like this: Feet hurt? Duh, I’m running the Tinker Bell Half Marathon and I’ve ran 10 miles already and it’s been so freakin’ awesome and now I’m running back to Disneyland! This day is amazing and some people haven’t even woken up yet! A magical, sweaty day!

Of course, it may have worked too well. Around mile 12, I was positively manic, occasionally skipping and bursting out into song. I blame crazy runner brain. Other runners were probably harboring dark thoughts toward me and I have honestly no idea where it came from because I was pretty exhausted.

And as we approached the finish line, I found out why I was so tired! We totally beat all expectations of time and beat the 3 hour mark for my best RunDisney time ever. RunDisney is supposed to be a slow race because of the stops, but I wasn’t too far out of my non-runDisney Half Marathon times. Of course, now I wonder what I could have gotten for a time had we not stopped at all, but where is the fun in that?

After the race, we rejoined our cheer squad and then went straight to Disneyland (not kidding, I cleaned up in a wonderful restroom on Main Street). Then Taylor and I picked the craziest thing we could possibly do in the park on tired exhausted legs. We climbed to the top of Tarzan’s Treehouse just to say we did.

I'm sure this is an unusual location choice for a post-race, in-Disneyland-Park photo.

An unusual location choice for a post-race, in-Disneyland-Park photo, but it was fun, even if we usually skip Tarzan’s Treehouse on normal park visits.

Time: 2:53:11
Ran With: Taylor
Best Costume-related shout-out: “It’s called a hustle, sweetheart!”
Most Surprising Snack Box Item: Drinkable/slurpable applesauce— appalling idea to me pre-race, delicious nectar of goodness post-race.

 

2 thoughts on “Race Recap: 2016 Tinker Bell Half Marathon— Disneyland, CA

  1. Lovely costume! How did you make the Judy one? Would love to wear it during my race in Paris this September! I can sew so would love advice on how you made it 🙂

    • The costume itself was rather complicated, but ended up being super comfortable to wear.

      Bottoms:

      • UA Fly-By Run Capris in Navy
      • Bit of white faux fur for the tail

      Top:

      • Acoro shirt in Marina Blue
      • Moving Comfort’s Juno Sports Bra in Navy
      • Toy Metal Police Badge accented using blue nail polish

      Ears:
      These were made of a mottled grey felt, with a pale peach inside. I then made my ear shape, sewed the pieces together, leaving the bottom open. I inserted a thin piece of stiffened felt to keep the ears upright. I used a charcoal pencil to darken the tips and a pink highlighter to barely pinken the inside. I then used a brush to make the felt look more like fur.

      An elastic loop added to the back and bobby pins added to the bottom was all I needed to keep it secured to two buns.

      Accessories:

      • Carrot Earrings
      • Armbands sewn from navy spandex
      • Carrot iphone case
      • Duty Belt made from wide black elastic, sewn into a circle (after adding duty belt accessories and a silver buckle.) Rivets were then added and the silver buckle sewn down to make it look real.

      All in all, a very fun costume!

Leave a Reply

