Portland Marathon No. 2 and my Crazy 2016 Race Schedule

Well, the year 2016 is shaping up to be absolutely insane! Last night, Jason and I took the plunge and signed up for the 45th Anniversary year of the Portland Marathon.

d6e40793-b058-4f08-91d8-96962a9b0476

I had such a fulfilling time at the 2015 Portland Marathon, my first marathon ever,  and have been thinking about doing it again since about 20 minutes after I finished the first one (which still shocks me, but the race was just that good).

It was one of the best races I’ve ever completed in my life (and I’ve done several runDisney races too) and I often wear my finisher pendant on a necklace to remind me of the accomplishment and good times.

If you are looking for a first marathon experience, I definitely suggest the Portland Marathon and I’m so looking forward to running it again (and with better training)!

That being said, my race schedule this year is absolutely insane now and I’m sure I’ll be logging the most miles in a year for me ever.

And I’m not the only one— Jason is signed up for two full marathons!

After a challenging first marathon with record-breaking heat at the Foot Traffic Flat, Jason will tackle the distance again at the 10th Anniversary of the Eugene Marathon on May 1st.

12439038_10153836949993828_3935091521994615346_n

 

He loves following pro runners, so what better than a race in Track Town USA that finishes on the track at Hayward Field? I’m really looking forward to watching him race. Plus, I went to University of Oregon, so I’m excited to see friends in the area and visit campus again.

I’d be interested in the doing the race myself, except it’s bound to be a fast field of runners, and more importantly, I’ll be running the very next weekend at Disneyland!

Tinker Bell Half Marathon 2016

The 5th anniversary of the Tinker Bell Half Marathon (registration is still open) is my next major race. Jason and I will switch places as I become the runner and he becomes the spectator. I’m so excited to be running with my brother Taylor in his first half marathon ever and we’re already hard at work planning our costumes.

Taylor and I are also celebrating our July birthdays (which are two days apart) with people by completing a half marathon.

Twilight Half Marathon

The Twilight Half will be my first major nighttime race and first major race during the summer. It’s in nearby Vancouver, Wa. and looks to have a very nice flat course around Vancouver Lake. I’m a little nervous, but hopefully I’ll overcome my issues with running in summertime temps and this looks to be a ton of fun.

If the conditions are right, it’s also my best chance for a half marathon PR this year because of the four half marathons I’ll run in 2016, three of them are RunDisney races.

In fact, if everything works out, I’ll complete my 10th Half Marathon at Disneyland in September!

2016 Disneyland Half

My whole family will be participating in the Disneyland Half Marathon race weekend (registration still open). I’ll have both Taylor and Mom as running partners during the half. I’ve been wanting to do this race for a while, so I’m very excited to be going!

A month later, I’ll be running the Portland Marathon!

And then, perhaps I’ll take a break.

I don’t think I’ve ever had to train at such a high mileage for so long before, so I really don’t know how it will feel. With the exception of the Portland Marathon, I’ve got running partners for all of the races and I’m so excited for them. I think that will help me avoid running burn out. There will also be smaller fun races sprinkled in.

In fact, next weekend is the Luckython 5K! I look forward to wearing green and running with Taylor and Katie!

One thought on “Portland Marathon No. 2 and my Crazy 2016 Race Schedule

  1. I’m so glad i found this blog! The medal is gorgeous! Maybe I can put this one in my list for next year!

Leave a Reply

