Race Recap: Donate Life Nebraska 5K, Omaha NE

Jason and I flew to Nebraska over a long weekend, along with our friends Melissa and Jason2 for Jason’s friend’s wedding in Lincoln.

11038111_10153244684093313_9099377204934889854_n

The run was raising awareness of the importance of organ donation, and Donate Life Nebraska.

Of course I’m training for Hippie Chick Half, Jason is training for the Foot Traffic Marathon (hoping to get a Boston qualifying time) and Jason2 and Melissa are training for Rock ‘n’ Roll Portland.

None of us wanted to miss training that weekend, but just going on a regular training run seemed boring.

…And there was a 5K less than a mile from our hotel in Omaha.

So before driving to Lincoln Saturday morning, we went over to Stinson Park and signed up for the Donate Life 5K & Heroes Walk at the last minute.

I was pleasantly surprised to receive a very cool tech shirt (awesome design/color!), even though I registered day of. It will be a fun souvenir from running a race so far from my regular west coast races.

IMG_4173

The weather was humid, but still good for our run. Then soon after we all finished, an epic thunderstorm rolled in.

Although it was a fairly small race, it was really well organized. Donate Life Nebraska even had a number of donor recipients and living donors participating. I’m a little in awe of heart transplant patients who ran (and beat the pants off me).

The course was a simple out-and-back on a bike path with a few minor rolling hills (or lumps more like).

I thought it would get congested at the start, but it didn’t seem too bad.  I thought to keep up with Jason2, but he scored a personal best, beating Melissa for the first time.

I ran solo, thinking I wasn’t doing very well— my hip was still acting up ever since the Camellia 10K and I was dealing with mild allergies. However, once I finished, my time was actually decent. In fact, it is my best 5K time since my PR on July 4th last year.

IMG_4168Jason won the race completely, coming in first by almost a minute with a time of 20:06. Although it wasn’t a PR for him, it’s the second race he’s ever won (the first being the small Friends of Jordan 5K).

Post-race there was great music, plenty of bagels, bananas, granola bars and— my favorite— chocolate milk. A thunderstorm that rolled in after we finished cut the festivities a bit short, but Jason received a medal for his overall finish. He even (briefly) made it on TV!

And we made it back to our motel before check-out time.

Time: 32:50
Ran With: Myself mostly.
Best Part: Seeing Jason on the return part of the race, clearly in the lead.
Post-race Joy: Chocolate Milk. There’s been a few races where I’ve expected it and haven’t gotten it.
Exotic Travel Experience: We just don’t get thunderstorms like they do in the midwest. The thunder was awesome.

One thought on “Race Recap: Donate Life Nebraska 5K, Omaha NE

  1. Congrats! I see Jason has the rock n roll Seattle shirt. We did that one too, but in a different year. It was a favorit half.

Leave a Reply

