Costume reveal for the Inaugural RunDisney Star Wars 10K

Only 3 days until the start of the Star Wars Half Marathon weekend and I’m pretty excited about my costume for the first half of the Rebel Challenge, the Star Wars 10K!

IMG_3446

I based it off the droid that does the advertisements in the queue area and the safety spiel for the new Star Tours: The Adventures Continue.

I got the idea back in November, but I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to pull it off— I was pretty focused on making the costumes for the Star Wars Half (reveal soon). But I’m running two races so I really wanted two costumes.

The costume is made out of stretchy spandex type fabric and I didn’t try to completely match the Aly San San droid. It’s pretty comfy to wear since everything is made out of athletic type fabric anyway.

Star Tours Running Costume details

1) Base layers | Grey running tights and a grey running shirt. I prefer running in capris. Although the long sleeve grey running shirt looks great, I’ll probably swap it with a grey short sleeve shirt (Calfornia weather, yay).

Adding the orange stripe to the bottom of the running skirt (Use lots of pins! ...and then realize the fabric will shift and stretch anyway...)

Adding the orange stripe to the bottom of the running skirt (Use lots of pins! …and then realize the fabric will shift and stretch anyway…)

2) Running skirt | I drafted the pattern (with help) off another athletic skirt and made the skirt in blue and then added the orange stripe at the bottom. This proved trickier than expected because the fabric was so freakin’ stretchy and slippery.

Despite its annoying nature, the stretch was useful when it came to the waistband, because I could use the fabric itself instead of adding elastic.

3) Vest thing | Instead of trying to incorporate colored panels directly onto the front of a grey shirt, I opted to make it part of a vest. I modified a shirt pattern into a vest pattern, a process that made me a little crazy when one of the patten pieces I made mysteriously disappeared (it still hasn’t reappeared).

Unfinished costume with the skirt and front blue panels (plus Star Tours logo!)

Unfinished costume with the skirt and front blue panels (plus Star Tours logo!)

The back is just plain blue. For the front I cut the pattern in half at a slight angle (and added the seam allowance back in) to get the two orange and blue panels. After sewing it all up, I had to add in some darts so it would fit just a little better .

For the actual race, the front bottom of the vest will be secured by the top two pins holding my bib number.

4) Logo | this was the most important part of the costume! The vest looked like a funky construction worker outfit before the logo was added.

Star Tours: The Adventures Continue logos

Star Tours: The Adventures Continue logos

I made it much larger than the proportions of the original. This makes it way easier to see and more recognizable. A larger image was also much easier to cut out of the stretchy fabric of doom.

I had to apply fusible interfacing to the fabric before it would behave enough to get a decently straight cut logo.

After finding a logo to use (Did you know the logo for Star Tours: The Adventures Continue is different from the original?), I transfered it to paper and cut out only half of the logo to use and pinned it to the fabric. Using only half ensured that the two sides would be the same after cutting it out.

5) Accessories |  With such stretchy material, it was easy to make an orange headband. I also added two blue cuffs that just slide on.

This was by far the hardest run costume I’ve ever sewn, and way harder than the Mouseketeer running costume I sported last year at Tinker Bell Half.

The costumes we sewed for the Star Wars Half (reveal soon) were not as difficult for me on a technical level, although they have many more elements to them. They also have a completely different flavor!

I always love seeing what costumes people come up with and I know there will be lots of amazing Star Wars costumes but I’m wondering… will I see any fellow Star Tours people out on the course?

Related: See the costume in action with the Inaugural Star Wars 10K Recap

3 thoughts on “Costume reveal for the Inaugural RunDisney Star Wars 10K

  1. Nice work. Will you run the 10K AND the Half? Nice. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: The Inaugural Star Wars Rebel Challenge | Running At Disney

Leave a Reply

