Race Recap: 2014 Rock n’ Roll Vancouver Half Marathon

I’m not sure if I should write these race recaps when I’m still very sore. The day after, I’m still torn between “That was amazing!” and “Running is painful. Avoid it.”

I didn't get a picture in front of the Lion's Gate Bridge, so I chose another lion to pose with post-race.

I didn’t get a picture in front of the Lion’s Gate Bridge, so I chose another lion to pose with post-race.

I finished strong, I received my awesome lion finisher’s medal, and the race was absolutely amazing.

It’s been a long time prepping for this race, since I signed up in May during the Rock n’ Roll Portland expo.

I may have taken the race more seriously, but I still had to stop for amazing photos.  Running through Stanley Park, the Lions Gate Bridge is in the distance.

I may have taken the race more seriously, but I still had to stop for amazing photos. Running through Stanley Park, the Lions Gate Bridge is in the distance.

Unlike the Tinker Bell Half Marathon, I took this one a little more seriously, so I could see what kind of time I could actually post during a 13.1 mile race.

We drove to Vancouver, BC on Friday, leaving early and arriving around lunchtime. After having lunch and exploring the Granville Island area, we went to packet pick up and the expo.

I have to say, I was disappointed in the expo, which was quite small. Making it feel even smaller, of the few exhibitors, many were only targeted toward local residents.

Saturday was pouring rain all day, which made us a little nervous about what Sunday race day would be. We huddled in jackets and umbrellas as we walked through the cobblestone streets of Gastown.

Pre-race dinner was a traditional pasta one from Gastown’s Old Spaghetti Factory.

I can deal with rain,  but I was nervous that the constant rain would make the course slick and running would be slippery in areas.

I needn’t have worried. After a day (and night) of constant rain, Sunday proved to have perfect weather.

Vancouver— beautiful city on a beautiful day!

Vancouver— beautiful city on a beautiful day!

I was in corral 19. The corral in front of me had the 2:30 pace bunnies, but I had a feeling I’d be off that pace when doing such a long run. Although Jason was in corral 1, I got to hang out with our friends, Melissa and (also) Jason. Everyone is typically faster than me, so after the start, I quickly lost track of them.

I really enjoyed my run, although the race definitely wasn’t as big as the Tinker Bell Half Marathon. It also seemed like there were a lot less people as slow or slower than me.

My sunglasses broke at the start line, which made me super sad. Jason tried to console me by telling me I wouldn’t need them, but it turns out the weather was nicer than he expected. The sun glare off of puddles was annoying in places,  but luckily, once we were in Stanley Park, the trees helped with that problem.

Hanging out with (other) Jason in Stanley Park. So pretty!

Hanging out with (other) Jason in Stanley Park. So pretty!

Near the entrance to Stanley Park (I think around 10 km in), I did catch up to Jason (other Jason).

It turns out he blew out his knee and had to walk.

I was happy to see him and we chatted a while before I decided I probably should start running again.

Despite the injury, he finished the race in under 3 hours.

About 15 km in, I realized that the end of the race was approaching. The problem is, 15 km is isn’t close enough to the end of the race.

The second half definitely was hiller than the first half, and I was tiring. However, from 15 km on, I kept trying to convince myself that the end of the race would be there before I knew it.

I could hear the finish from 3 miles away, but not from 1 km away, which was kind of strange. However, once I did spot the finish line, I had just enough energy to speed up at the end.

I couldn’t go too fast as the path was narrow and only I’m crazy enough to go from slow runner snail pace to photo finish sprint at the end. And unlike in Tink, I remembered to celebrate crossing the finish line!

Finished!

Finished!

Official Time: 2:38:02
Ran With: Myself
Photo Stops: 4
Favorite Sign: “In anything you do, always give 100%”
“Unless you’re giving blood”

2 thoughts on “Race Recap: 2014 Rock n’ Roll Vancouver Half Marathon

  1. great review. We were there too from New York (Long Island)

Leave a Reply

